The role of traditional media and social media in the developed world

The social media and traditional media have always been a very important tool for us to be informed. Through the years we have become more demanding as consumers because of the evolution in the world. Nowadays, we can verify how good is a product that we want to buy, with just a click, and see all the comments based on other people´s experiences. This essay will demonstrate which role is more important, Traditional media or social media and why. Firstly, it is important to know the differences between Social Media and Traditional Media. Traditional Media are the advertising channels that have been used for decades, for example, television, newspaper, radio, and billboards. On the other side, Social Media are the digital channels, for example, apps and banner ads, this in comparison to Traditional Media have been more used in the last 2 decades. According to Shah (2020), “The battle between traditional and new media has raged on for the past several years, with both having their pos and cons”. Social Media has changed all the marketing that businesses used to do, nowadays, through it you can filter your ideal buyer, knows their hobbies and the most important that they see and share your product. Traditional Media do not have these advantages; besides that, it is very expensive make advertising with them, also they do not filter their audience so you cannot really analyze your data. “Social media marketing uses content to cultivate trust over time. Traditional marketing forces an opinion on a buyer in hopes that it will take if repeated frequently enough” Rodriguez (n. d) asserted. The engagement that social media do is very important, because they have constantly relation with their costumers, with comments or messages, and with this the buyer always is going to be more comfortable about the product that he is buying. To conclude, in my opinion social media is right now the best tool that we can use as a buyers or sellers. Traditional media are still very important for some group of people that have refused to evolve with the world, but the end and with all Pandemic situation we everyday are going to be more and more involved in this new media that already have change our life.