The role of repetition in music

Repetition has appeared in music from all over the world for such a long time. On the radio, we usually discover hit songs that include a catchy chorus playing several times, and we still listen to these already repetitive songs again and again. In addition, many iconic symphonies and operas get built on the patterns that repeat. When we listen to repetitive music, we usually notice that every composition uses repetition differently. In other words, there is no systematic way of using repetition in music. Music utilizes repetition to different extents. First, some pieces of music do not use repetition at all. For example, a TED talk, “ The beautiful math behind the ugliest music, ” introduces a non-repetitive musical piece in which the relationship of every pair of notes is distinct and never repeated. Second, some music may include plenty of repeat patterns. For instance, “Glassworks” by Philip Glass features repetitions in almost all sections of the piece. However, each repetitive section features subtle changes of intensity and note arrangement to keep the sound interesting to listeners. Finally, some musical compositions even have more unique repetition arrangements. “We Are Young” by Fun. is a compelling example. While its verses get played only once, its chorus gets repeated multiple times. Repetition appears commonly in music since it and of itself makes music more beautiful. Repetition first allows musical compositions to sound more cohesive. Compared to human language, music is more abstract and harder to comprehend. Repetition addresses this limitation by highlighting how different parts of the music are connected to form specific rhythms, thus allowing listeners to grasp the structure of a musical piece. Next, repetition allows music to be more in-depth. When we listen to repeated patterns, we usually compare them and discover that they do not sound identical. In repetitive music, subtle variations can occur among repeated patterns. These variations create more depth to the composition while still maintaining its cohesive structure. As a result, repetition makes music more beautiful. For many people, including myself, a musical piece will be most effective if it offers a balance of repetitions and surprises. First, a musical composition should not have too many repeated sections. It would be psychological abuse for listeners to go through a song with three musical phrases repeated for more than five minutes. Second, a musical piece should have elements of surprise both within and among repeated sections. Among repeated patterns, it is a good idea to introduce new music phrases, such as different bridges, to keep our listeners engaged. Within a repeated section, such as a second verse, introducing artful and subtle differences is beneficial. If the second verse is an exact repetition of the first one, listeners might lose interest because there’s nothing unexpected. However, if we introduce a new intriguing bass at the second verse, we not only maintain our listeners’ excitement but also allow them to join our performance, because they have a picture of what the upcoming notes could be. Ultimately, repetition is a significant aspect of music. Using repetition appropriately is a key to unlock the beauty of music, where rhythms will stick to human minds like memories.