The role of education is to prepare children for the modern world. Schools should cut art and music out of the curriculum so that children can focus on useful subjects such as information technology.

Education plays a crucial role in developing youngsters for the challenges of modern era. Some people claim that educational institutions should remove art and music from their syllabus so that the children can pay more attention to crucial subjects such as information technology. I disagree with this view and this essay will discuss the reasons for it. To begin with, learning subjects such as art and music will develop young people’s creativity and enable them to think out of the box and come up with unique ideas. In modern times, students are overburdened with academic pressure. Learning art or music for an hour or so after listening to lectures on science or technology will refresh their mind and help them focus better. These subjects also help to sharpen the cognitive skills of youngsters. For instance, a recent study has suggested that students who opt for different art and musical subjects are more independent, confident and bold in decision making when they start working / when they join the workforce. Thus, it is obvious that the art and music subjects are vital for the mental development of youngsters. Furthermore, teaching students these kinds of subjects will help them to identify their non-academic interest and they can start honing their skills from school days itself. For instance, every individual has their own area of interest. Hence some students who are not performing well in educational subjects may be exceptionally good / talented in the area of art or music. If they receive training in these subjects at school, it will be beneficial for them to build a career in these fields. Hence, it is necessary to add music and art to the school curriculum. To conclude, adding the subjects such as art and music to the school curriculum will not only help the students to become proficient in their area of interest but also generate creativity in their mind and approach.