: Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Urbanisation and global development have led to an increase in waste production. . There is no iota of doubt that todaywe are producing enormous amount of waste that cannot be decomposed at a similar rate. One of the major concerns of producing waste is all the rubbish that is accumulated due to human activities. Most of this wasteis in the form of plastic, which takesmillions of years to disintegrate. In this essay we will discuss the possible causes for the increase in waste production and waysfor governmentsto address this challenge with relevant examples. One of the main reasons for the increased waste output is the change in lifestyle of manypeople. There is an increased culture to use easy alternatives in household activities. For example, as studiesshow, the domestic consumption of plastic in the US has increased by25 percent in the last five years. This increase is mainly due to the rampant increase in the usage of use and throw away utensils, like plates, cups, etc. , Moreover, there is an increased consumption of packaged foods. This has a two-fold effect. Firstly, it leads to an increase in industrial waste due to the increase in demand. Secondly, the materials used to package these foodsare not eco-friendly. Governmentscan play a pivotal role in curbing the increase in waste products, by implementing many different rules that must be implemented by all parties involved in waste generation. For example. . . . . In addition, theycan promote the recycling of rubbish by incentivizing the local population. An illustration of this is. . . . . Moreover, they can help eco-friendly industries which leave less rubbish over high waste generating industries, by subsiding them. . The government should levy special taxes on waste production. For example, the Government in Sweden was able to reduce their waste productionby almost 50 percent by introducing organic alternatives and levying 10 percent waste management taxes on high waste producing industries. Thus, in conclusion it is very important for government bodies to take initiatives to reduce the waste footprint. There are many efficient ways to deal with the waste production that could lead to immediate reduction in rubbish creation