: Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

21st Generation is of modern era with advance technologies and ease of life of people. With all technological advancements, human life has become more and more mechanical and dependent on machineries and has made the entire generation more and more lethargic and lazy. Major reasons for increase in waste in these times are increased industrial wastage, lack of human intention to recycle products/reuse products and lower awareness among people for environmental damage. There is higher dependency of manufacturing activities and with increase in population, the scale of activities has increased multifold. Thus with increase in consumption, there is large scale production of conusmer goods to industrial, from chemicals to textiles, which has raised the emission of waste levels to new heights and has put the administrations to trouble to manage this significantly increased industrial waste. Secondly, but perhaps most critical is no motivation among the people of this generation to reuse and/or recycle products to reduce end garbage. Very pertinent issue for this increase plastic waste, as high amount of single use plastics are in the market and there is lack of awareneess and intention among people to resue plastic as freqeuntly as possible. Good example of this would encouragement provided by malls, and govt intitiatives to reuse plastic bags for shopping and avail discounts, recycle of waste pet bottles of water/cold drinks being done in the same industry. It is high time that governments should consider options of utilizing plastic and other waste for construction, infrastructure and roads. While other liquid and semi solid waste would be utilized for agri and other commercial purpose. Governments should run schemes in conjuction with private companies to help co-ordination of these wastes to put to productive use and benefit those private players by way of tax exemptions. Benefits to end consumers should be be given to reuse plastic products, recycle of water utilization in house hold puroposes and other activities at large.