The role of education is to prepare children for the modern world. School should cut art and music out of the curriculum so that children can focus on subject such as information technology.

Many people think that students need to concentrate on practical subjects such as information technology to prepare for a modern world. Therefore, school should put more stress on these subjects and remove art and music out of the syllabus. While I agree that practical subjects should be emphasized, I believe art and music still play an important role. On the one hand, I agree that practical subjects need to be focused on because they prepare students for their future career. For instance, information technology is the basis for many jobs in the modern world such as accountant or office worker. Some other jobs in economics and related field also require maths, physics and certain theoretical subjects. Without the knowledge of these subjects, it will be difficult for students to work efficiently in their jobs. On the other hand, I would argue that although students don’t need art and music in their future career, these subjects still have certain benefits as they can bring happiness to one’s life. For instance, studies have shown that classical music can make people feel more relaxed and avoid negative feelings. Another case is that creating art like drawing or painting a picture can give you an absolutely rewarding and a sense of happiness. That’s why arts are also important and should not be ignored. In conclusion, while I agree that it is good to help children to focus on theoretical subjects, arts should not be cut out of the syllabus since they can make people happy and satisfied.