The road transport is taking over the rail services as the main means of transportation. Is this a positive or negative development.

The road transport is taking over the rail services as the main means of transportation. Is this a positive or negative development. Undeniably, road transport is a popular mode of transportation owing to which in modern days, enormous money is being diverted towards it as compared to rail. Irrefutably, it will be an advantageous concept but upto a small extent because rail transport is more convenient. On one hand, road transport has a few benefits in comparison with railways. Initially, roads are less expensive to construct in contrast with rail lines and moreover, road networks cover almost every nook and corner of a city as well as a country. In addition, the frequency of vehicles running on roads is always more than railways and hence, it can be said that road transportation mediums are time-saving. On the other hand, the upsides of railways are too great to ignore. Firstly, in order to cover longer distances, railways are the best modes of transportation. In-brief, if the shipment is moving over 1, 000 miles and is not time sensitive, rail transport can be a very efficient solution for supply chain. Along with this, trains are capable of hauling large loads since one double-stacked train can hold approximately the same amount as 280 trucks. Secondly, rail transport can be cost effective. To be more precise, shippers who convert long-haul fright from road to rail, are minimizing 10 to 40% of expenses as rail has lower fuel costs as compared to road transport, especially when shipping a high volume of freight, and road transport causes more pollution by burning of fossils but maximum railways are running on electricity since a decade. Last but not the least, railways are reliable. More specifically, this mode has standardized transit schedules and do not share their tracks with the public like trucks do with the road. To conclude, after this discussion, I would like to say that railways bear more bright sides than roadways and therefore, it will be a negative development if governments allocate more budget for roads.