The growth of online shopping will one day lead to all shops in towns and cities closing. Write with examples of your own knowledge or experience.

Online shopping is here to stay. There is no denying that. Will online shopping completely wipe off the physical stores in towns and cities? I do not think so. Online shopping has been a game changer across the world for at least two decades now. As with any technological innovation, there are always pros and cons and those of online shopping have been widely debated. In the following paragraphs, I shall argue why the shops would not close despite the proliferation of online shopping. If one thinks of it, online shopping is a fantastic innovation. It lets the consumer buy anything, ranging from a toothpick to a computer from a seller directly. The good thing about such a transaction is that the consumer can make a near complete assessment and order goods as per their choice. They also get the seller to deliver the said good to their doorstep at a convenient time. This saves a lot of time and energy for the consumer. The only catch to this, is that the consumer cannot get the sense of touch and feel of the product. This means, if the said good is not liked by the consumer, they must send it back to the seller and this often takes a bit of time and effort. But that’s the case with buying something from a physical store too. Personally, I like to visit physical stores and check out the goods before buying them. The city where I live has a few shops which have been run for generations and the shopkeepers have watched me grow up. Every month, we send a list of grocery, and he gets them packed and delivered home. They know our family and suggest appropriate items for purchase depending on our needs. The other day, the shopkeeper reminded me that I had forgotten to put coffee powder and sent two packets of our regular brand with the rest of the grocery. I consider these as a perk of shopping from a physical shop. However, in recent years, his patrons have reduced in number as many have shifted to online shopping. Online shops often have financial clout and manage to undercut other sellers by offering bulk discounts. The local storekeeper, however, does not have funds to bank roll his operations and thus offers a modest discount. People rush to pick up the same items from online sellers because of the discount and this impacts the business of the local shop. Fortunately, the digital proliferation among the masses in our country is still slow and a vast majority of the people are outside of the online shopping strategy. A daily wage labourer still goes and picks up their daily groceries from the physical shop. I do not see this changing for at least a couple of years. Finally, the importance of the local shop became more relevant to me during the pandemic. As our country went into a lockdown, we had to purchase essential goods from shops nearby or from online sellers. All the online sellers had long delivery times and it made sense to simply call the local shopkeeper and ask him to send groceries and other essentials home. Sure, we did not get massive discounts, but we have the items delivered when we needed them. In conclusion, based on the aforementioned explanations, I do not think the growth of online shopping is a threat to the existence of physical shops in towns or cities. Yes, there will be a dent in the profits made by physical shops, but this will remain marginal and the two will continue to coexist.