The Road Not Taken by Gitanjali

This is a magnificent poem written by a great poet - 'Robert Frost'. In this poem the poet faces a dilemma in choosing one road out of the two since he cannot take both paths at the same time. He deliberately talks about the point where his path forks into two and he has to make a serious decision of choosing one out of the two. After considering much about it, the second path seemed much better to the poet as he excuses that the road is soft and grassy hence it needs to be worn out, in spite of knowing, that both the roads are equally worn out by the passersby and the trees too had shed their about the same yet no leaf was crushed black by the footsteps. Then the poet gives another excuse that he would probably take the first road some other day but not for that particular day. He had not promised it as he knew that where the road was leading him to but whenever he would return back he would not regret for the decision instead he would be pleased that he actually managed to decide which one to take and ultimately he would think that no one but he himself took the decision that changed his life.