The rising levels of congestion and air pollution found in most of the world's cities can be attributed directly to the rapidly increasing number of private cars in use. In order to reverse this decline in the quality of life in cities, attempts must be made to encourage people to use their cars less and public transport more. Discuss possible ways to encourage the use of public transport.

In this day and age, as life becomes more modern, more people tend to make use of private cars. This directly results in the rapidly rising number of air pollution and traffic jams. To these problems, citizens must be encouraged to use less of their cars and take advantage of public transports instead. There are several below probable ways that I would suggest. Firstly, we must raise people’s awareness of environmental and traffic issues caused by myriad of private transports. We need to let them know that these problems affect not only habitats, but also our health and even ecosystem. However, it will cause less air pollution if carbon dioxide that released from cars is decreased. Therefore, an educational or public relations campaign must be launched to propaganda this knowledge and make citizens conscious of the benefits of public transports. People should be familiarized with the environmental, social and personal benefits for present and future generations. Secondly, mass transportation must be made to be more affordable than driving to work every day. Cars used to be used less because they are the symbolization of riches. Nonetheless, as societies develop well, all the household demands to possess at least one car and this leads to the dramatically growing number of private vehicles. To decrease this amount, instead of high cost of cars which puts a financial problem on people, low prices to use public transports will be superior for citizens. Moreover, some problems such as fuels and car insurance will cost even much more. Besides, we can limit the amount of car parks and raise the fee so that people will be less willing to possess a car. Last but not least, the improvement public transportation facilities, more comfortable seats, faster speeds and direct routes can encourage more passengers. People may use their private cars because lack of seats and crowd at the public transportation. If the governments provide more seats and enhance service, we can reduce the use of private vehicles. Therefore, the improvement of public transportation can discourage people to use of private vehicles. In conclusion, we should make public transport more comfortable and convenient to attract more commuters and decrease traffic congestion. Public transport retains its passengers, like any business that satisfies its customers. The more commuters commit to taking public transport, the less congestion on city streets is.