The dangers of smoking are well known, yet many people continue with this habit. What are the causes of this? How can we reduce smoking in society?

The disadvantages of smoking is not new to the knowledge of many but people choose not to quit this habit for many reasons. This essay discusses some of these reasons and provide solutions to reduce smoking in the community. Firstly, people smoke for therapeutic reasons. Some people lit a cigarette because it reduces their anxieties and help them calm their stresses. For instance, in most reality TV shows that depict addiction, habitual smokers lit a cigarette every time they feel apprehensive to help cope with anxiety which may lead to depression. Secondly, culture plays a huge role on why a person smokes and especially why they do it at avery young age. Studies show that the type of community you grew up in takes a spot on the person you will become when you grow up. If you are surrounded by habitual smokers, you will grow up thinking that smoking is normal because everybody seems to be doing it. Thus, introducing cigarettes to yourself at a young age is feasible. To cut this habit, you must need to divert yourself to other therapeutic activities such as meditating, doing physical activities, or reading a book. In doing so, not only will you replace bad habits with good ones but also you are building a foundation to become a better version of yourself. Another solution is to leave the place that influenced you to smoke. As the quote says "You cannot outgrow the same community that made you who you are unless you leave". Find another place where people are unlikely to smoke so everytime you light a cigarette, you will feel guilty. Change starts from making a concrete decision to embrace it so take a responsibility to discipline yourself to quit smoking.