THE RESTRICTION OF THE CONSUMPTION OF ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES BY ADULTS

Whether the consumption of alcoholic beverages by adults should be restricted by-laws is a very controversial issue. Some people argue that countries should restrict the consumption of alcoholic beverages by adults; however, I totally disagree with this argument. In my opinion, the consumption of alcoholic beverages by adults should not be restricted by laws due to the rights and freedoms of an individual, and black markets. The first reason why the consumption of alcoholic beverages should not be restricted is the black markets. As a result of the restriction of alcohol, people buy alcohol from black markets, yet the alcohol which is sold in black markets is unhealthier than legal alcohol. Consequently, a country cannot stop alcohol consumption by-laws; moreover, it decreases the quality of people’s life due to restricting legal alcohol. The second reason why the consumption of alcoholic beverages should not be restricted is the rights and freedoms of an individual. In my opinion, a person has the freedoms and rights to choose what to drink and nobody can restrict him/her. Trying to restrict alcohol consumption will just increase the number of people drinking alcohol. People thinking countries should restrict the consumption of alcoholic beverages argue that alcohol is harmful to health. As I mentioned above, people have the rights and freedom to choose what to drink. Although it is true that alcohol is harmful to health, countries should not restrict the consumption of alcohol because people drinking alcohol consider the risks and harms of it while drinking. To sum up, I strongly believe that alcohol consumption should not be restricted by laws. In addition, I hope that the number of people thinking it should not be restricted will increase in the future.