The rate of unemployment in some countries is high. Because of this, there is no need to complete an education beyond a primary school level.

As the world’s population grows so does the unemployment rates in most countries. This leads many people to avow that education beyond primary school level is not needed. It is disagreed that education beyond primary school level is no longer needed, no matter how high or low the unemployment rates get. This will be proven by looking at the sophistication that higher education brings with it and how education helps to differentiate between the more productive and less productive people. To begin, the merits of education beyond primary school level are not limited to the technical knowledge gained from the studies, they extend to the courtesies and etiquettes learned by students as they get more mature through education. For instance, it is no secret that bullying amongst children is highest up until high school, it starts to diminish from thereon as students become more in-tune to the wrongs and rights. If youngsters, start to drop out of school after primary level, those bullies, could go on to become juvenile delinquents. After analysing this, it is clear that education beyond primary level is indeed fruitful for the society at large. Furthermore, in absence of education, it would be harder for prospective employers to choose between more competent and less competent people. A scenario where all job applicants for a particular job are primary school level qualified, employers would be hard pressed to select the best possible candidate for the said job, illustrates this point well. Unfortunately, if there are no criteria, upon which to decide between potential employees, the recruitment process will become inept. Hence, education beyond primary school level plays a pivotal role in hiring process. In summary, higher education has a significant part to play in humanising the youth, and in distinguishing between the skilled and the unskilled. Thus, I beg to differ with the idea that education beyond primary level is not needed. It is hoped that people will continue to acquire knowledge through education, regardless of the levels of unemployment.