Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems. Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways that governments and individuals can tackle these problems.

Ever since the industrial revolution, people have been migrating to urban centres in droves. Hence, cities have become overcrowded, which in turn has resulted in many hardships for their dwellers. It is argued that high costs of living and rising transport difficulties are two of the most serious problems brought about by overpopulation in cities. To tackle these issues, suburb developments and infrastructural changes will be analysed for viability. To begin, costs of living in big cities have reached an exorbitant level in the past few decades due to ever growing population density in these areas. One of the ways in which this alarming issue can be addressed is via development of upscale housing communities in the outskirts of major urban centres. For example, in Karachi, Pakistan, the government has initiated many such projects outside of the metropolitan area, which has helped to curb the high costs of property in the city. As a result, property ownership rates in the city have sky-rocketed in the last few years. Therefore, the plausibility of establishing such housing arrangements can be clearly seen. In addition, many cities now face the epidemic of regular bumper-to-bumper traffic jams due to ever increasing the population. A feasible way to counter this issue is the investment in newer modes of transportation. Take London, for example, where the underground subway system has dramatically eased the traffic congestion in most parts of the city. Thus, the subway system has become the preferred way of travelling for most inhabitants of London and as a result, the numbers of cars on London’s roads have dramatically shrunk in numbers. Hence, the effectiveness of this suggested solution is obvious. As is clear, setting-up of housing communities outside of city limits and establishment of alternative means of transport are effective ways to counter the negative ramifications of overpopulations in cities. It is thus hoped that these strategies are put into practice by governments the world over.