The Ram Khamhaeng inscription

Most of the countries around the world generally had historical evidence on different platforms. Some may be daily life supplies or tools, while others were letters or notes. For instance, in Thailand, there was an excellent record which is a stone inscription (The Ram Khamhaeng Inscription). This slab of stone was contained within important details which is according to situations in the Thai past. Therefore, this paper will be discussed towards the aspects of King Ram Kamhaeng through the inscription. To begin with, the purpose or reasons of the King to placed this stone in his kingdom. The intention would be to preserve Thai history. In other words, he would like to place this stone as a reminder to people today. They can learn about religion or significant events in that time. As well, this stone contains Thai history in the period of Sukhothai. To place this stone in the public also automatically given the role to people back then as a witness for the real contents that located on the stone. That is to say. He would like to give an idea to people from the past to the new generation what how was Sukhothai in the past look like such as geography, society, laws, values, etc. Plus, this stone was the most essential evidence to insist that Sukhothai land was existing before. And it could be the only way for people from the past to communicate with people in the present and future time. The stone inscription addresses nowadays individuals about 13th century Sukhothai in several dimensions. It is said that this period of King Ram Khamhaeng was the most powerful or wealthy time. Agriculture played a major role in economic health. There were no restrictions in the trade market that means commoners had the freedom to sell and buy. Furthermore, the laws were also pursued firmly. When it came to ambiguity, there would be a clear examination to ensure fairness. A bell hung over the front gate to solve the sadness of people by directly consulting with the ruler. This bell also represented concentration from the king towards his people. Besides, as seen from the fact in the past, men had more power than women. And this period also had slavery. After the warfare, the looser must be surrender by sending their people to become slaves, especially for women and children. This shows persecution at that time. Moreover, this stone also shows religious preference. It demonstrates how Buddhism played the main role in the Sukhothai land. Thai people have been believed in the precepts and dharma for a long time ago. In conclusion, in order to verify the information carved onto the stone is precise. There is a lot of evidence that can be proved. As seen from the real existing name of the kings, places, cities, and years. These things are the fact that no one can deny that the contents are real and can be examined.