It's better to live in the City than to live in the Countryside.

The question of whether or not live in urban areas is better than in rural ones has been receiving a great deal of public attention. While I agree that living in the city brings several advantages, I also believe there are significant disadvantages which city dwellers can have. On the one hand, I agree that city life is attractive as it offers opportunities that can change one’s life, especially the young’s. First and foremost, cities are more likely to offer greater employment possibilities. In fact, traditional activities like farming need fewer workers nowadays thanks to the development of machines and technology. That is why people in the countryside, especially younger workers, tend to move to cities searching for job opportunities. Moreover, a higher standard of living with educational and medical facilities that help people better themselves and guarantee that brighter prospects can be found in urban areas. Nevertheless, I also think that residents in cities have to face different problems that would make their life uncomfortable and stressful. Firstly, traffic congestion and pollution are one of the most common issues people usually experience in the city. In fact, the number of commuters and private vehicles they use tends to increase since the population in most cities is growing. This means that the traffic jam at peak hours when people going to and from work is unavoidable and the exhaust fumes released will pollute the environment, which leads to frustration while traveling and unhealthy life of citizens. Secondly, homelessness and poverty are easily seen in cities since the cost of living is often higher than in rural areas and not all people in cities manage to find work. The housing rent is usually much more expensive and since it is populous, there is always a lack of housing for people. If the situation continues and it is not be solved immediately, the crime rate will increase in urban areas, which will affect people’s safety In conclusion, to a certain extent, I agree that living in a city is advantageous because of the chances to help people change their life. However, I also think that it is detrimental and unhealthy due to some problems related to overpopulation.