The quality of computer language translation has improved significantly in recent years. Therefore it is not necessary for children to learn a foreign language. To what extent to you agree or disagree?

In recent years, computer technology has advanced significantly. Now we can communicate with people who speak different languages with the use of computer translation software. Despite the development of these useful resources, I disagree that children should not learn foreign languages, because learning another language can not only help an individual better understand their own language, but also communicate on both personal and cultural levels. Firstly, learning a foreign language is often a helpful way to get a better insight into one’s own language. For example, from personal experience, I found that learning Italian was useful in the acquisition of more vocabulary in my native language: Spanish. While computers can help translate Spanish into Italian, if I had exclusively used computers to translate for me, I would not have gained further knowledge of my own and other languages, like English and German, which also share some similar word formations. In this way, learning foreign languages has many advantages beyond just communication. Secondly, computerised translation software can help people translate foreign text or even converse with a person who speaks a different language, but computers cannot communicate on a personal or cultural level. For example, one of my closest friends speaks Italian as a first language. We could consult our computers to have a conversation, but our conversations are richer and more interesting when we attempt to communicate by actually speaking to each other. Also, we are able to share the different aspects of our cultures and home countries, the taste of our native dishes and the expressions unique to our local dialects, all things which our computers cannot do. In conclusion, I disagree with people who believe that computer translation is sufficient for communication between people who speak different languages. I believe children should be taught foreign languages to broaden their knowledge and to help them communicate with people of other cultures.