Countries should try to produce all the food for the population and import as little food as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many believe the benefits of food self-sufficiency outweigh those of importation on a national scale. While I agree that nations ought to provide their citizens with domestic food, some foreign sources of nutrition are inevitable for the countries’ population. The national supply of sustenance crucially contributes to countries’ economic growth and well-being. Indeed, the provision and consumption of domestic agricultural produce significantly enhance the competitiveness of national food markets, which, in turn, boosts the countries’ gross domestic products. Furthermore, encouraging consumption of inland products for nutrition needs plays a role in elevating national values and appreciation among citizens. If daily meals made from local ingredients are ubiquitous and widely welcome, the cultural identity will be well-preserved, keeping foreign impacts at bay as much as possible. However, the international food business is indispensable in meeting the population’s nutrition demand. A shred of clear evidence is the Japanese, who have to trade for other nations’ supply of vegetables and freshwater as the country is in the middle of the ocean, and cultivatable land only accounts for 14% of its landmass. In other words, the need to consume overseas sustenance is acceptable for nations facing particular geographic challenges, such as long-lasting drought, barren soil, and disasters. Only by entering the international market can these countries be entrusted with satisfying nutritional values. To conclude, nations should join the global food market apart from supplying domestic products to guarantee their citizens' balanced nutrition needs. Nevertheless, either can be the priority following specific conditions of each nation.