The qualities and skills that people require to be successful in today’s world cannot be learned at university or at other academic institutions.

It is thought by some people that the abilities needed to flourish in today’s world cannot be acquired at academic institutions, while others tend to disagree. In my opinion, while the specific skills one learns at university such as tenacity and time management are important, the school of life teaches us lessons that are more widely applicable, such as effective communication and stress management. It can be argued that attending university teaches us many skills necessary for succeeding in today’s world, such as meeting deadlines and completing tasks regardless of our personal interest in them. Academia is highly organised and demanding, and asks an individual to complete a variety of tasks in a short amount of time. This teaches one to be methodical, and to prioritize tasks as well as the efforts we invest in them. Attending university also curbs our tendency to avoid unappealing tasks, which helps develop maturity and perseverance in a student. Thus, in the future, when faced with uninspiring or routine work, the individual is able to focus and complete the task at hand within the stipulated time. However, in order to thrive in our society, practical skills learnt in the real world, such as effective communication, and stress management – are equally, if not more important. The ability to exchange information with people from diverse backgrounds and viewpoints effectively, without any misunderstandings, is invaluable, as it is something we utilize almost constantly. Perhaps most importantly, with the multitude of roles any individual plays in society, managing the stress engendered by them is crucial. Managing one’s stress is highly individualistic, and people try out various methods over a long period of time before concluding what works best for them. For example. listening to music might help alleviate stress for some, while for others, practicing meditation might be key. In my opinion, without the skills we learn in our daily lives, we cannot fully utilize the one’s learnt via universities, thus rendering them more important. To recapitulate, while attending university instills vital skills such as time management and tenacity in people, in my opinion, the abilities we acquire in the course of our daily lives, such as communication and stress management, are of greater importance. These skills help us to capitalize on our technical skills and abilities.