The purpose of higher education is to prepare students for the future but classen students are at a serious disadvantage in the competition for post college employment due to the university s burdensome breadth requirements classen s job placement rate

While students’ side presents an intriguing case in their petition, unfortunately their assumptions have perfunctory reasoning for support. In the following, I call upon three main point that the writer has been reticent about and must be looked into. For starts, the writer claims that the low post-graduation employment rates of Classen students is solely to be blamed upon the curriculum. Yet they fail to explore other possible reasons for unemployment. The simplest of which is socio-economic instability or an ongoing period of recession, in such times employment is fraught with difficulties and more experienced candidates may often be preferred. Also geographical factor must be taken into account. It may that the observed universities are placed adjacent to within more industrial cities, where the demand for fresh workforce is insatiable. Also the students boldly compare job placement rate of their respective university with that of” many top-ranked universities”. Two disturbing ambiguity in the claim must be addressed: first, in Classen university’s overall ranking comparable to the other mentioned universities? Secondly, was the fields of studies in the other university graduates taken into account? If the mentioned institution ranks below 100, comparing its post-graduates’ immediate achievements with high ranking universities is ipso facto asinine. Moreover, the fields of studies are as well important; generally students majored in art has much more trouble landing a job compared to a STEM graduate. Lastly, the writer relegates the role of higher education to job preparation boot camp. Goals for attaining a degree may differ for each individual, but in any case having wider and more varied understanding of the world is beneficial both to future professionals as well as those who strive for scholastic excellence. Thus this argument lacks sound reasoning on many facet and must be further investigated.