A memorandum from a researcher of Metro Motorcycles: The advertisement budget spent on social media websites has no effect on sales. A costumer survey shows that 90% of the participants said they never purchase the product because of the advertisements on

This argument claims that Metro Motocycles should invest more budget on TV and radio advertising than on social networking website advertising. One evidence cited to support this conclusion is a survey showing that 90% of the participants claims that they never purchase the product because of the advertisement on the social media network. Another evidence cited is that the company’s sales of motocycles increased a year after the company advertised its product on TV and radio in Metro city. I don’t agree with this argument, however, because of following reasons: First of all, the survey conducted among the customers is not convincing enough to prove the effectiveness of social media advertising. The author only mentioned the percentage of participants who said they would never refer to the advertisements on social media to purchase a product, but did not clarify who were the targets of this survey and how many people was participating in this survey. If the most participants of this survey are old people, it is not surprising that the advertisement on the social media is not attractive to them because they are not as likely as young people to spend spare time on social media. Also, if the total number of participants is only few hundreds or even less, this survey should not be considered a good indicator as the target customers of Metro Motocycles are thousands. Moreover, the author readily assumes that the advertising on TV and radio is more effective than the advertising on social media because the company encounters increase in sales right after they implemented the advertisement on TV and radio. Yet a lot of other factors should be also taken into consideration. It could be possible that the motocycle company has run some promotion campaign during this year, so that more customers are attracted by the good promotions, but not by the advertising on TV or radio. Another reason could be that the main competitor of this company has run out of business recently so the customers have no other choice to purchase the motocycles. In sum, it would be imprudent for Metro motocycle to invest more money on TV and radio advertising rather than social media advertising with the evidence provided. To make proper conclusion, the author would have to provide more convincing evidence to prove that the recent increased sales of the company is solely attributed by the advertising on TV and radio.