The following appeared as part of a petition sent to residents of Youngtown by an environmental protection group The Smith Corporation should not be permitted to develop the land that is now part of the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve This sanctuary is essent

The petition sent by environmental group to the inhabitants of Youngtown expresses discontent about the land sale that is going to happen in near future. The environmental group asserts that the land buyer, Smith group is planning to construct a hotel and the construction will be harmful to a bird sanctuary which is present in that area. The environmental group predicts that, the hotel will have bad consequences rather than good ones and opposes the construction of the hotel. The argument seems reasonable at a cursory glance but detailed analysis reveals some loopholes. So, to examine the validity of the argument thorough analysis is needed. The first assumption the author makes is, the area is home for 300 verities of birds. However, author fails to cite the source or information which led to this assumption. Even if the the author mentions the source, how credible that is? It could be possible that, the author is making his assumption based on 5 year old data and which may not be valid now. So, the author should provide data that proves his assumption that the area is actually a bird sanctuary. If, the area is no more a wildlife preserve the argument does not hold water. Subsequently, one more assumption author makes is, the planned construction from Smith group will be harmful to the the area but fails to provide any evidence about this statement. To prove this fact, records about previous constructions of Smith group are needed. What if Smith group is actually good and always fulfills its promises? In this case the author's assumption will be wrong. Next assumption the author makes is, the construction will not be useful for the area. But, the residents are not against it. There could be many benefits from this construction. What if some people in the area are unemployed and the Smith group plans to take some local workers? Unemployed people can work and earn some money and there by improving the economy. If the sanctuary is preserved, more and more tourists will visit and there by the hotel makes some profit. Author should provide some data or information to prove that his assumption is correct. In a nutshell, the author fails to present cogent argument in front of the audience. The author must provide evidence to prove that his unstated and stated assumptions are correct invariably and by doing so he can make his argument more tenable. Without such evidence it is very difficult to say if the argument is correct or not. Thus, the Youngtown residents should think further on the letter from environmentalists before selling land to Smith group.