The pros of choosing a job you love over one you hate with a high salary.

It’s a once in a lifetime opportunity. You’re working at a job you love. You don’t make much money now, but you’re able to get by. One day, a man approaches you. He tells you that he was impressed by your friendliness and wants to offer you a job at his business. He works in another city, but the potential with this position is astronomical. Suddenly you could be making double your current salary, and there’s a lot more room for growth at this new job. Do you take it? The answer to that question may seem obvious at first, “Yes, ” but is trading away your happiness really the path to success? In my opinion, it isn’t, as the pros outweigh the cons in this scenario. Hence, in this essay, I will be discussing the benefits of doing a job you enjoy, and how fast cash isn’t the road to true contentment. First off, being in an occupation you enjoy provides you with motivation, which is essential to working at any job. With it, you are able to get things done faster and more efficiently, while also producing work that is of higher quality. This allows you to clear projects without much complaint, making your job easier for you and your boss. Conversely, if you were in a profession you despise, you are far less likely to actually want to do the assignments, instead pushing it back and potentially even missing deadlines. The tasks produced would also be of lower quality, and there is no drive that pushes you to keep on improving yourself, resulting in a poor work ethic that is sure to get you demoted or fired. Thus, motivation is vital, as simply put—it helps make working fun rather than a chore that you have to force yourself to do. Additionally, doing a career you enjoy can help you maintain and even improve your mental well-being than if you were working for a job with a higher salary that you disliked. For example, if you are in a business you love working for, you would genuinely enjoy the various tasks assigned to you. This causes work to become less stressful, preventing burnout and depression from emerging. In fact, a study conducted in 2016 has shown that over 80% of Americans who hate their jobs also suffer from burnout caused by said vocation. Therefore, follow your calling in life, as it will spare you from a lifetime of sorrow and despair. Lastly, albeit slightly ironically, it may actually help boost your career. By following your vocation, as I’ve previously mentioned, you can excel at your work and constantly achieve more and more. This will catch the notice of your bosses, who upon seeing your amazing work ethic and dedication, will possibly promote you, allowing you to climb the ranks. Furthermore, it will improve the company’s image of you, granting you a plethora of new opportunities. Consequently, this creates a positive loop of increased productivity and further promotion. Hence, we can see that there are many pros to working at a job you like.