The proportion of elderly people is increasing in many countries. Do you think this will be a positive or negative change?

Nowadays, in a number of developed countries, the rate of senior citizens has been rising, resulting in both advantages and disadvantages for individuals and societies. Concerning this issue, I strongly believe this alteration will negatively affect on both people and nations. I have two reasons to support my argument. First of all, the more elderly people live across the globe, the more money adults have to spend on to support their lives, increasing taxpayers’ responsibilities. At the same time, it may shrink the size of the market due to this undesirable situation, leading to an economic downturn in a country at some level. In Japan, for example, the percentage of senior ones of all will reach 30% in 2050, which makes the amount of tax twofold compared to only a decade ago. Moreover, this coming consumption rate will increase the national expense for social security. Likewise, it also makes adults lives more stressful than in the past because they should take care of their parents, senior citizens. In general, they would like to do what matters most such as hobbies or work. Nevertheless, it is indispensable to look after their mothers or fathers primarily because they are just their own parents, which might make their lives less happy or uncomfortable. According to a national statistic, approximately one-third of the 50s in Japan usually spend their full time on supporting their parents’ daily lives including eating and washing. To conclude, though the importance of elderly people is immense because they are able to tell their experiences to youngsters, it will have a negative impact on expense for both people and governments.