The prompt: 1. Some people think that parents should plan their children’s leisure time carefully. Other people believe? those children should decide for themselves how to spend their free time, Which idea do you agree with? Give reasons for your choice.

It is true that when applying for a job, potential candidates with practical skills are valued more than those with only academic qualifications. While I admit that in some cases, experience may come before theoretical knowledge, I do not agree with those who claim that there will not be a need for formal qualifications in the future. Some people speculate that in the future, employers are more likely to overlook candidates’ academic background, not requiring any formal degree. Their strongest argument is that most jobs in the future will be computerized, requiring IT skills from potential employees. It is true that even today when applying for IT-related jobs, candidates’ practical skills and previous work experience are valued higher than their formal qualifications. However, this is not always the case, especially with high-profile IT companies. Most silicon valley technology giants such as Google and Facebook still recognize the importance of academic excellence, requiring job applicants to have a formal degree from top schools in the field. It is also argued that given the popularity of a university degree, most job applicants are on a level playing field. Therefore, future employers are predicted to show preference for practical skills over theoretical knowledge. Nevertheless, in my opinion, for blue-collar jobs, formal qualifications will always remain a minimum requirement, and practical skills will be considered only when the minimum requirements are met. Moreover, it is undeniable that there are some professions that one cannot do away with a university degree. Take, doctors, for example. Without the necessary background knowledge and theory, one cannot apply for a job in this field. In conclusion, while some people feel, given the nature of some professions, future employers may not require an academic degree, I still believe that having theoretical knowledge will remain a fundamental requirement for most blue-collar jobs.