The production and sale of cigarettes should be made illegal

According to research made by some universities most of 55% of the people in the western countries used to smoke at least 5 cigarettes each day. Most government has tried to tackle the problem although they didn’t get any valuable result, for this reason, a new idea is wonder around people: the production and sale of cigarettes should be made illegal. But is it a wise choice? We use to think that, if somethings is illegal the people aren’t going to do that, but this could be true in an ideal world, unfortunately our society isn’t perfect and often people can break the law in order to fulfil their necessities. For this reason made illegal cigarettes will feed the illegal market, leading smugglers to sell cigarettes in an illegal way. This is the same scenario of the cannabis, even though in most countries buy marijuana is completely illegal, people are still able to use it, due to the drug smuggler, made cigarettes illegal will bring us in the same situation. So is it a good solution? Definitely not! So what we can do to help people to give up smoking? If we look at some measures that some countries have taken, in order to contrast people who smoke, we can learn that rising the price for a pack of cigarettes looks working. In the UK a pack of cigarettes cost nearly 13 pound, this could be a huge spending for a lot of people, thus they are going to give up to save money. Another good way is to show to the people the bad effect of smoking, and how this can be harmful for their self and for other people. In conclusion, even though thinking about made cigarettes illegal looks like the best choice, if we analyse all the possible scenarios behind this thought we can simply understand how this isn’t, for sure, the right thing.