The process of producing edible oils and fats, and margarine

The overall process of producing edible oils and fats, and margarine comprises of eight consecutive steps. First the raw materials such as coconuts, sunflower seeds and groundnuts are collected from the various agricultural fields across different places. Then the collected raw materials are transported using cargo ships to the silos, where it is stored. From the silos, it undergoes crushing and milling process where the larger pieces of raw materials are broken down into smaller pieces. After that, it passes through the pressing section, here these smaller chunks of raw materials are pressed hard to extract oil from it. The extracted oils have some impurities which are filtered out in the filtering section. The filtered oil is furthermore passed to the steaming process where the oil is boiled at high temperatures for several hours. The oils are segregated as coconut, sunflower and refined oils. The heated oils are allowed to cool down. Later, the end-product from the steaming process is packed in various ways such as bottles, cans and tins. These packaged oils are then loaded into the trucks to transport them from the manufacturing factory to the supermarket/shops, where it is available to everyone to buy.