The process of applying for a vacancy normally involves posing many questions on applicants, which sometimes not only involves job-related questions, but it may also extend to their personal life.

The process of applying for a vacancy normally involves posing many questions on applicants, which sometimes not only involves job-related questions, but it may also extend to their personal life. While some think that personality traits could be essential in performing a job, I agree with those who feel that it is mostly irrelevant. On the one hand, it could be claimed that personal pursuits could reveal certain characteristics which are often of crucial importance to specific posts. Sales representative role, for example, often requires traveling, so it may not be suitable for people who prefer permanent office jobs. The only way to know this is by asking job applicants about their passions. Advocates of this approach often argued that matching a career with personal interests could decrease employees turnover in companies, and, as a result, increase productivity. On the other hand, I side with those who believe that this method has many flaws, one of which is it is difficult to verify this information. Unlike academic and career-related questions, which could be easily proved by certificates, recruiters have no possible way to validate the authenticity of personal interests. However, perhaps my strongest argument is that this way could lead to discrimination against applicants. To illustrate, Inquiring about the civil status of applicants might lead to the rejection of newly-married persons, as some companies may try to avoid providing paid maternity leaves imposed by law for parents. Therefore, in my opinion, the recruitment process must not involve such questions. In conclusion, although it is undeniable that personal interests could be used to match applicants with certain jobs, it also could result in infringement of law by discriminating against applicants. Therefore, I, on balance, believe that personal-related questions should be avoided under any circumstances.