summaries the ideas ò chapter 2 include many example á posible

Being expected to read and respond to emails quickly is an example of distracting behavior in the workplace. Cal Newport questions whether being constantly connected at the workplace is particularly helpful. Harvard Business School professor Leslie Perlow found the professionals she surveyed spent around twenty to twenty-five hours a week outside the office monitoring emails. These individuals stated that they believe it necessary to answer any email within an hour of its arrival. Cal Newport views this time spent on checking emails as wasted potential time that could have been applied to more crucial tasks. Ultimately, a tendency to check one’s emails reduces individuals’ well-being and productivity. However, this culture of connectivity in the workplace is not required. Therefore, Cal Newport sheds light on how workplace behavior can encourage unproductive activities like constant monitoring of emails. • The Principle of Least Resistance: Without clear feedback on the impact of various behaviors, we will tend toward the easiest behaviors. • Busyness as a Proxy for Productivity: These unproductive behaviors can arise during the absence of clear productivity indicators. In this instance, even many knowledgeable workers will turn back toward an industrial productivity indicator: visibly doing lots of stuff. Suppose you’re using busyness as a proxy for productivity. In that case, these behaviors can appear crucial for convincing yourself and others that you’re doing your job well. • The Principle of Least Resistance: In a business setting, without clear feedback on the impact of various behaviors on the bottom line, we will tend toward behaviors that are easiest at the moment. • Busyness as Proxy for Productivity: In the absence of clear indicators of what it means to be productive and valuable in their jobs, many knowledge workers turn back toward an industrial indicator of productivity: doing lots of stuff visibly.