The process details the steps in the production of electricity.

The process details the steps in the production of electricity. Looking from an overall perspective, it is readily apparent that energy production involves the combination of coal and oxygen undergoing various chemical processes including heating that result in gases that then power two different types of turbines to produce electricity. In the earliest stages, coal is transported by ramp to a furnace where it is heated and combined with oxygen. The waste byproduct of this is slag and the desired gas (raw syngas) is then sent for removal of its harmful contaminants, CO2, mercury, and sulphur, before the purified gas is used to run a gas turbine connected to a generator. This is the first way that elecrtricity is created. However, the gas turbine using the purified syngas also produces excess hot gases and these are utilised in a heat recovery steam generator (which releases flue gases into the atmosphere). The generator produces steam which turns the turbines of a steam turbine to generate additional electricity.