some people think that reading newspaperis a waste time.

In this modern world, it is impractical to read newspapers as it takes people’s time purposelessly. I am in complete agreement with this group of people about this idea and below some arguments will be discussed carefully to prove my point. To some extent voices from the other side could also be heard that mainstream news can update more trends or information from a wide range of fields such as education, policy and so on. People would lag behind if they did not keep up with the latest news, especially in Covid 19 pandemic, for instance. Perhaps it is true but they seem to neglect the fact that presses might give rise to negative consequences in both society and entertainment levels in some extent. From a social perspective, with such extensive media coverage, that the readers would be bombarded by information overload. Therefore, people find it hard to look for an official news outlet. Furthermore, some trivial news that people accidentally encounter, distract them from finding important or genuine information. For example, a student is searching for a document but it is such a waste of time to flick through news about his idol instead of concentrating on his work when too many headline-grabbing articles pop up. On the entertainment level, the press tends to mention high-profile personalities and famous figures in order to improve the newspaper industry’s advantage. Gutter presses, headline-grabbing newspapers are getting more and more popular. They distort the reality from celebrities' privacy to their scandals. It makes the readers annoyed because they do not know exactly whether it is true or not. In my conviction, my firm conviction is that reading news is not worth taking time due to the fact that information overload and gutter presses delay our work.