The process below illustrates the biodiesel cycle

The given image depicts the stages included in production of biodiesel. The process consists of 7 steps to produce the biodiesel fuel. The process initiates with photosynthesis by consuming light energy from sun, next to this step the seed is obtained from the crop, after this crude vegetable oil is extracted from the seeds, then the oil is refined in a refinery in fourth step followed by a process called transesterification in which alcohol is mixed with purified oil. While the sixth step is divided in to two sub steps resulting a product and a by-product namely biodiesel and glycerol (used in food and cosmetic industries) respectively. Finaly, the refined fuel is used for it's primary purposes that is for transportation and energy needs. It is also of importance that the fuel burnt in various applications produces CO2 in atmosphere. In summary, it can be observed that the process of biodiesel manufacturing begins with photosynthesis and ends with energy generation and emission of CO2.