Some people argue that children should not watch television as it can have a negative effect on their development. Others claim that television can help them in their future.

People have different views about children watching television. Some people believe that television has adversely impacted on children’s development while others oppose this idea and claim that it is beneficial for their future. I personally support the latter idea. Supporters who argue against children watching the TV have a number of arguments. One is connected with their studies. This is because these young people do not know their limits, and may waste a large amount of their time watching cartoons, documentaries, films and music clips. Being addicted to watching the TV, these children are unlikely to do their homework properly, which can impact on their school grades. Besides falling behind with their studies, children may suffer physically from too much exposure to watching television. It is proven that excessive screen time can trigger such health problems as obesity, eyesight deterioration and insomnia. However, I side with those who argue that watching television is a largely useful activity for their future. The argument about grades presented above should be examined from a different angle. It is no doubt true that TV programs for children consist mostly of educational content, so if they are watching scientific channels like National Geographic and Discovery, in no way will this decrease their grades at school. Not only do they improve their scientific knowledge, but also TV is an excellent tutor of foreign languages. Children can pick up expressions from commonly-spoken languages such as Russian and English unconsciously through watching cartoons and movies, thereby taking their first steps in language learning. In conclusion, although some people think that watching TV plays a negative role in a child’s development, I am of the view that it is an overall positive development since they acquire knowledge from what they are seeing