IN CITIES, SPACE FOR HOUSING SHOULD BE CREATED BY KNOCKING DOWN HISTORICAL BUILDINGS. WHAT IS YOUR OPINION. bbqng

It is believed that destroying historical buildings is needed in paving ways for new housing areas. Although historical infrastructure will give way for new projects, I strongly disagree with the statement because this is part of our culture and history. 40 To begin with, demolishing historical infrastructure is removing our heritage. This will be depriving younger and future generations of acquiring knowledge of their own roots and witnessing the remains of the past. Moreover, for its citizens to understand their origin, traditions and beliefs. To illustrate, I reckoned when I was young we had this field trip where we visited the old villages in our country and witnessed how the structures of an old house looks like from its vintage windows to the colorful glass pattern doors and their cookware are mostly made of clay, which they molded with their own barehand. Thus, historical buildings serve as a guide to understand our traditions. 112 Another point to consider is that knocking down historical buildings to provide additional space for housing development will erase its symbolism.  I strongly believe that we should try to restore and preserve the historical items and buildings left by our ancestors. The places and events that had created a great impact on our country and as a community. For example, the artifacts in the museum will give a glimpse of the past,  the items and garments that our ancestors used during their time. Therefore, in my opinion, developers should not demolish historical infrastructure and instead, plan on developing the nearby areas to make it accessible for younger generations to study our rich history. 113 To recapitulate, I strongly believe that real estate should not view historical buildings as their new projects as this is part of our rich heritage and symbolism. 27