The prevention of health problems and illness is more important than treatment and medicine. Government funding should reflect this. To what extent do you agree?

Prevention is better than cure, as it is rightly said taking care of one’s health is of paramount importance rather than treating the aftermath. This essay will explain why health is the extremely important factor of an individual’s life and how government can facilitate the awareness of prevention of illnesses rather than curing it. With the fast paced life that the world lives in currently, many often forget taking care of their own health and thus fall prey to an array of diseases only to rely on medicines and treatments later. Illnesses also comes with a cost that many cannot afford and hence end up losing their lives. For example, widespread of polio in late 1990’s affected large percentage of children, reports stated that more than half of the affected victims of polio were children from the slum areas. The Government should carry out awareness projects mainly focusing on the under priviledged areas of the country and also start campaigns free of cost for saving lives of the citizens. Not only the needy can be saved from the ramifications of uncalled and unknown diseases but they can also prevent it before falling prey to any diseases. For example, UK had carried out the biggest polio vaccination drive in 1980s which made all the countries aware and saved a life of millions before falling victim to the illness. Therefore, I completely agree that government bodies must take adequate measures before the onset of any unforeseen circumstances and set up local hospitals which cater to the needy who are not educated and are the primary victims to epidemic diseases.