Irrespective of the type of crime they commit, criminals often face imprisonment.

Irrespective of the type of crime they commit, criminals often face imprisonment. While some individuals argue that they should be forced to work as volunteers for social causes others opine that they should be held in the jail. I believe that whether an individual should be confined to prison or not depends upon the severity of crime and the age of the perpetrator. Those who commit petty crimes should be given a second chance to reform themselves by giving back to the society through social work. People commit crimes due to various reasons and it is not necessary to punish every criminal with a mandatory prison term. Of course, heinous crimes such as premediated murder or acts of terrorism should be given stringent punishments including prison terms; however, someone who commits a petty crime due to poverty or on the spur of the moment should have an opportunity to learn their mistake and reform themselves. It is better to make them do unpaid community service instead of confining them to prison. On the other hand, there are heinous crimes which cannot be tolerated such as rape and murder. These kinds of people / criminals who commit atrocious crimes are hopeless of refining themselves. They should be punished with death sentence and should not be allowed outside of prison bars without proper security/police force. To conclude, not every criminal can be reformed. Prisoners especially children can be allowed to do charity work only if they are visiting jail for the first time whereas brutal criminals should not be allowed to roam outside the prison because they are harmful to the society.