The prevention of health problems and illness is more important than treatment and medicine. Government funding should reflect this.

It is often argued that preventing health issues and diseases is better than treating them and hence the government should allocate appropriate budget for it. I completely agree with this view as it will help maintain a healthy lifestyle and save money on medical expenses in the future. Better still, a healthy population is happier and more productive. Firstly, if the government spends more money on promoting prevention methods it can encourage people to live a good and stress free life. In other words, if a person wants to live a healthy life he needs to prevent himself from indulging in bad habits such as eating fast food etc. However, individual efforts alone will not help. The government should also invest in highlighting the benefits of a healthy lifestyle by launching health awareness campaigns. Secondly, if the government gives more importance towards highlighting benefits of prevention it can help people save a lot of money on medical expenses. This is because by taking prevention measures people will not fall ill, thus saving money which would otherwise have been spent on medical treatment. For example, there has been a 10 percent reduction in the sale of cigarettes in India, after the Indian government launched a campaign highlighting the health consequences of smoking at all major bus and train stations. This has helped people save money which otherwise could have gone into treating illnesses related to smoking. In conclusion, I firmly believe that authorities should spend more on encouraging prevention as it will help people to stay healthy save money on medical bills.