THE PRESENT HAS BEEN CREATED BASED ON THE PAST

From my perspective, I do not support Alistair MacLeod’s explanation because I believe we should live for our present, not for the past. The author said our present is created from the past and our ancestors. It is undeniable to say that but the change and development from the past until now are tremendous. During this time, people have been finding and innovating more ways to improve lifestyles and customs. People right now live instantly because they want to adapt to a “new environment” which has a lot of new things. Moreover, it also does not mean that they do not appreciate the past, it is more likely thankful for their ancestors and improves from the foundation. When everything is getting more modern and convenient, it is incontrovertible that the demand and desire increase significantly. People are encouraged to follow their passion or dream because there are so many choices for them. In addition, we have so many offers at the moment in every aspect such as occupation, food, or clothes. Besides that, we are living in the fourth industrial revolution which means technology is the leading trend. We cannot compare the present and the past because there is a huge gap that we might know and see how humans have developed and been creative. In my opinion, appreciating the past means we honor what our ancestors did and keep celebrating it, it does not mean that we have lived like how our ancestors did. Human intelligence is endless, we never know what is going to happen tomorrow. I believe we should cherish our present because the past is gone and it was beautiful in our memory.