The presence of technology in the classroom has become more and more apparent and offers students tremendous resources with which to supplement their education.

In this digital era technology is playing an important role in all major sectors and 'education & teaching' is no exception. It has definitely changed the way we learn and teach. However, there are several reasons that make me believe that technology will never be able to replace our conventional teachers completely. Firstly, technology cannot make decisions the way humans do. For instance, in a class, if a student does not understand a topic, a teacher can decide to explain it in a different way or even with a familiar example. Technology cannot relate to our day to day lives. Also, a machine or a software cannot differentiate between good and behaviour and subsequently, cannot handle it with a punishment or a reward. Technology will never be able to handle a class full of kids the way teachers do while being loved, respected and inspiring students at the same time. Every student is different and may need a different treatment which teachers do the best. I believe that technology can help the teachers to teach more efficiently but can never play their role. Secondly, the logical matrix lacks an emotional repertoire. Teachers play a very important role in motivating and guiding students, not only in their academics but also in their personal lives. Technology cannot do that. Unlike machines, teachers can gauge when to be funny, serious or sympathetic. Moreover, though we need to use technology on a daily basis today, not everyone is tech-savvy. I myself still prefer blackboards over slideshows for learning. A complete technology driven classroom seems very mechanical to me. All these points fortify my opinion that technology cannot replace teachers. Nonetheless, the way it assists teachers will arguably change over time with new innovations; hopefully only to better our learning experience!