The presence of digital technology and the internet in the lives of most people has brought cultures and customs from across the world into closer contact than has ever been known before. Although this is true, learning about the cultures of another country via a computer screen is vastly different to actually experiencing the first-hand.

The presence of digital technology and the internet in the lives of most people has brought cultures and customs from across the world into closer contact than has ever been known before. Although this is true, learning about the cultures of another country via a computer screen is vastly different to actually experiencing the first-hand. On the one hand, some argue that it is possible to learn a lot about another country without leaving home thanks to the internet. This is due to the fact that internet technology has endless amounts of information and videos about cultures and travel on Youtube, and even many apps and blogs allow people access to discuss and share their experiences of life in other countries. For instance, Facebook allows people from all over the world to connect with each other to make friends and expand cultural horizons from overseas. Obviously, prior to the internet, people only could look up information or data in books from the library; but these data were not up to date or as comprehensive as what is available on the internet. On the other hand, reading information can only give a limited amount of knowledge. This reason is explained that travelling to another country seeing and experiencing it first-hand will give one a deeper insight. An example of this is to imagine the difference between watching a football match on Youtube and actually taking part in that watch at the stadium; being there to experience the emotion and atmosphere will create memories that will last a lifetime. Furthermore, if Vietnamese want to try to eat Japanese food, they can cook that food; but its taste will not be as real as the same food when they come to Japan. Thus, direct experience is the best way to gain insight into what people need to know about another country. In conclusion, although people can be exposed to other cultures and ways of life through internet technology, the experiences in the flesh expand many opportunities and knowledge to cultivate.