Nowadays, online shopping is rapidly replacing physical shopping in stores. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

In this contemporary era, e-commerce platforms of shopping are drastically overtaking retail shops. Both merits and demerits will be discussed in the following paragraphs. The first and foremost advantage of online shopping is more convenient. Nowadays a significant number of people are tech-savvy and using the internet which gives them to access online shopping. Online shopping is more convenient as people just need to search for the product they want to buy and the product is just one click away. For people who do not like or want to step out of their house for shopping, online shopping is the best option as the product delivers to their doorsteps. In addition to this, customers can easily compare the product pricing and features on the different websites or apps. The flexible return and exchange policies are the added benefits for the customer which increasing the consumer base for online shopping. Another clear advantage is lower investment and paperwork to become seller online platforms. There is no shadow of a doubt that most of the businesses are coming online as becoming sellers on the online shopping platforms like Amazon, Flipkart, Myntra, Ajio and many more are relatively easy as these companies provide help to the small retailers to do so. Seller no need to rent a shop and employee salespersons for doing the business, only need to have a warehouse from where company's delivery people pick up the products. Furthermore, the online platform gave opportunities to housewives who can not go out for jobs or business. A survey was done by the New York Times states that for the last 10 years due to the e-commerce platform 60% of women became businesswomen by becoming sellers on online platforms. On contrary, there is a disadvantage of online shopping in rapidly replacing physical shopping in stores is decreasing demands for sales employees, accountants which will increase the unemployment rate. As most of the physical store is not functioning properly due to lack of customers and business profits which lead in pay cut or lay off employees. Moreover, local craftsman and traditional workers are not getting appropriate work opportunities due to lack of demand. To conclude, although online shopping is rapidly replacing physical shopping in stores has some positive effects but the drawbacks also need to be considered.