The positive and negative of Advertising

Nowadays, advertising exists everywhere in our daily life. Business tries to expose their products and services through advertising to increase benefit and help people to live with a better life. Some people think that advertising has a positive effect because it can help the growth of economy. However, others have an opposite opinion, saying advertising influent people’s judgement and increase dissatisfaction in their life. In my opinion, advertising has positive effect in a long term if we take some actions. On the one hand, advertising encourage consumer to purchase, which is a straightforward way to simulate the economy and help the growth of business, especially the start-up companies. Advertising increases the exposure of business and provide effective shortcut for consumer to discover new products or services that they need. For instance, I would say Apple’s products won’t spread rapidly without successful advertising. Also, without watching advertising and recognizing the new products and features, people might not have a chance to try or have a motivation to buy. The case of Apple tells us in some terms, it’s advertising leaded them to success and completed a technological innovation. So, advertising is beneficial for people’s life. On the other hand, some people might find advertising is overwhelmed because it makes people feel the products or services they’re using are not good enough. For example, a young lady keeps changing different brands of cosmetic products because she keeps chasing the newest one, whatever she can get from advertising. Some advertising do mislead consumer about purchase and influence people’s mindset. In my opinion, I think advertising is positive because it can help improve the quality of life. However, government should have restrictions on advertising and won’t let them have opportunities to misrepresent. Moreover, consumer should be rational when watching the advertising, keeping in mind what they need instead of the trend. Overall, advertising is a coin that has two faces. It has hug impact on economy but also have drawbacks on people’s life. As consumer, we should think twice before purchase.