The position of women in society has changed markedly in the last twenty years. Mant of the problems young people now experience, such as juvenile delinquency, arise from the fact that many married women now work and are not at home to care for their children.

It is certainly true that the position of women in society has undergone a dramatic change in the past twenty years, but I do not feel that this is a direct cause of the indisputable increase in juvenile-related problems during this period. It is now accepted that young women should find work on leaving school; indeed to rely on totally on their parents' financial support is no longer an option in many families. Likewise, once they get married, the majority of women continue working since the financial pressures of setting up a house and establishing a reasonable standard of living often require two incomes. Twenty years ago, it was common for women to give up work once they had children and devote their time to caring for their children. This is no longer the general rule and the provision of professionally-run child care facilities come at a cost and often require two salaries coming into a family to be affordable. I do not believe that the increase in the number of working mothers has resulted in children being brought up less well than previously. Indeed, it could be argued that by giving mothers the opportunity to work and earn extra money for luxuries and holidays and a more secure family life is possible. If course there are limits as to the amount of time that ideally should be spent away from home and the ideal scenario would be for one of the parents to have a par-time job and thus, is available for their children before and after school. It is import to establish the correct balance between family life and working life.