The Portuguese soon discovered that the Arabs would not give up on their spice trade without a war. By 1505, the Arab navy attacked Portuguese ships. King Manuel retaliated. And Ferdinand decided he would be a part of it. He would not be paid a penny for risking his life. However, becoming a soldier is his chance to escape. On the bloody

The Portuguese soon discovered that the Arabs would not give up on their spice trade without a war. By 1505, the Arab navy attacked Portuguese ships. King Manuel retaliated. And Ferdinand decided he would be a part of it. He would not be paid a penny for risking his life. However, becoming a soldier is his chance to escape. On the bloody battlefield there, Ferdinand learns to be a fearless and brutal soldier. Though short, he is tough and strong, and quick-witted. He's a born leader. In 1509, Ferdinand became lieutenant. Then, in a battle on the Indian coast, he was so badly injured that he was hospitalized for nearly five months. His looks do not create confidence. Those who don't know him often don't understand how capable he is. A less determined man might have given up. He went to battle again to prove his worth. But, in 1515, his soldiers had come to an end. A spear injured him in the knee.