Many students choose to take a gap year before starting university, to travel or gain work experience. Do you think this is a good idea or a waste of time?

Nowadays, a great number of school leavers are opting for taking a year-long break travelling or working before starting academy. I completely agree with this idea and this essay will discuss how beneficial his can be. The are several reasons why taking a gap year can be an effective plan. Firstly, some students prefer to work for a while before starting university life. Having a job, they can save up sufficient financial resources by receiving their own salary, to cover the tuition fee. For instance, instead of living off their parents, individuals could get a job for a year an d save some money for education. Secondly, during this period, undergraduates choose to go travelling, which in turn can be very beneficial as it exposes them to new ideas. Besides, it helps to get hands-on insights into the field they want to be in. For example, a teenager aspiring to join a institution for further studies can come across many professions like tourism manager, hospitality manager, archaeological officer etc. which may impact their decision to choose their stream for higher studies. On the contrary, if someone who may choose not to travel before college may not have a clearer picture in terms of the decision to pick their masters. In conclusion, be it travelling to different places or working in a company in the gap taken before tertiary education, these experiences can prove fruitful for the youth before higher education.