Prison is the common way in most countries to solve the problem of crime. However, a more effective solution is to provide people with a better education.

Decreasing the crime rate is one of the most difficult issues facing by all governments and security organizations across the world. Many people believe putting offenders behind the bars is the best approach to reduce the crime rates. However, I disagree with this view and I will explain why I reach to this conclusion in the following essay. Everyone wish to live in a safe and healthy society and education plays a tremendous role to achieve this. Majority of the education curriculums are developed to increase values like moral, importance about following the law, social and cultural values in addition to academic progress. Once you learn these values during the school days these ideas will engrave in to scholar’s brain and they will use these values throughout their life. One of the recent research results from UNICEF is underlining these facts because as per their assessment crime rate is very low in educated societies. Another crucial point our society is not ready to accept and accommodate if someone received a punishment and sentenced to jail. Once their prison term is over they may faces difficulties to find employment and shelter, and this may lead them to join some organized criminal group where they can easily earn all their basic necessities. Based on the facts I furnished above I strongly agree to provide better education based on moral values to everyone instead of sending them to jail because this will definitely help to reduce the crime rate. At the same time, I support harsh jail punishment for cruel crimes like killing, raping, etc. Finally, government must try to increase the employment opportunities due to the fact that unemployment is the highest cause of crime.