The Portuguese soon discovered that the Arabs would not give up on their spice trade without a war. By 1505, the Arab navy attacked Portuguese ships. King Manuel retaliated. And Ferdinand decided he would be a part of it. He would not be paid a penny for risking his life. However, becoming a soldier is his chance to escape. On the bloody

Around 1480 in Portugal, a boy named Ferdinand was born into the Magellan family. Ferdinand's life changed around the year he was twelve years old. The Queen of Portugal, Leonora, needs makeup. Trang is a young boy running news and doing housework for the royal family. Ferdinand was chosen for the job. Pages don't just work. They received a good education and met the most chivalrous people in the land. A smart boy can make his job the first step to success. So Ferdinand left his hometown for Lisbon, the capital of Portugal. By 1494, the rivalry between Portugal and Spain was so fierce that they almost went to war, perhaps around this time young Ferdinand Magellan decided to become an explorer.