The popularity of English

In these day and age, languages play a vital role in each citizen’s life in terms of global communication and interaction. Some languages that are all-too-often underestimated and misunderstood include: English. Though, in countries such as the United States, English has become a widespread language in the world. English is becoming more popular among many people around the world, with translations of Harry Potter novels to be consumed in 25 different languages. In North America there are over 500 million people speaking English natively and for this reason certain areas have become heavily populated by speakers of it. The United States, the United Kingdom, Ireland and most of the Commonwealth nations speak English as a primary language and is at least one of its official languages. The United States has over 30 million people that speak English as a second language. Therefore, it comes as no surprise that this country is considered to be the most linguistically diverse country in the world. Canada and America share a strong bond through common literature and history as well as having both countries similar cultures. Canada has also derived from Great Britain many years ago, making their similarities even more obvious. English has become an international language which is no surprise since it is the most used language in the world. English literature, traditions, laws and most notably languages are shared through this language that shares a lot of similarities with French, Spanish and Portuguese. Because of this fact, there are many languages that are derived from English. The most common languages among these are Germanic languages such as British English, American English and Australian English. Similarly, they also speak Germanic languages such as German. Being a European country for over 800 years now does make them familiar with English. However Spanish is related to French by belonging to the Romance group of languages which means that both of them have similarities with Latin as well as many others.