“America Ruined My Name for Me”, “Bich feels about her Vietnamese name”

The story “America Ruined My Name for Me” is written by Beth Nguyen; this story is about how “Bich feels about her Vietnamese name” when her family is first-time refugees in the USA. Additionally, the story also includes: “Why is Bich conflicted about changing her name to Beth”. Not only but also, she always feels embarrassed when people laugh at her while pronouncing her name. Furthermore, she never finds any pleasure in her name, and she is scared to look at it. She said: “A name like Bich (pronounced “Bic”) didn't just make me stand out—it made me miserably visible. ” This shows that Bich feels traumas, when her original name goes along with her during childhood because Bich's classmates, even teachers, always misspell her name and some people taunt her Vietnamese name. Those actions repetitively occur; she gradually feels shy and impotent, when she meets with others because she is afraid of the mispronunciation of her name. Thus, Bich wants to change her name to “Beth". Nevertheless, she needs to face many negative expressions that are triggered by her family and her surroundings. In contrast, her parents refused to let Bich change her name, she said: ”But my parents refused to let me change my name. They said that I should be proud of who I was, and they weren’t wrong, but they were so angry about it that I knew I should keep my worries to myself. “ This shows how Bich feels conflicted about changing her name from “Bich” to “Beth” because of pressure from her family and even society. Bich wants to change her name to have more opportunities to fit in more with society, and she wants to have a better life. In contrast, her family wants to keep the traditional culture, which means Bich is supposed to keep her original name. However, Bich still changes her name, and she even said: "But, if you refuse to accept someone’s chosen name, aren’t you refusing to accept who they are or what they have decided for themselves? I am not Beth to make life easier for everyone else; I am Beth to make life easier for me. " Since she says that, Beth could release her sadness for a long period since Beth was young. From now on, she would be more confident in meeting people and could fit in more with society. As you can see, Bich feels spiteful about her name but feels timid about changing her name to "Beth".