The planet's population is reaching unsustainable levels, and people are facing shortage of resources like water, food and fuel. To what consequences may overpopulation lead? In your opinion, what measures can be taken to fight overpopulation? jmkd

According to the latest research, the world's population has reached 7 billion, and this number continues to grow at an uncontrollable rate. Undoubtedly, the planet's capabilities are limited, and this situation will lead humanity to a critical point in social, environmental and economic aspects. Fortunately, some explicit measures can help solve the problem and its negative consequences. In the first place, the impact of overpopulation will bring the depletion of natural resources and the destruction of the planet's ecological balance. Water bodies will be contaminated more than ever: the soil will lose its fertility: the diversity of flora and fauna will be represented by a few domesticated species. Despite the mentioned, a social tension caused by the decrease in living standards, including a shortage of food (which means famine) and water, accommodation problems, the spread of deceases and many others, will lead to riots, armed resistance, and, eventually, to a global war. However, this pessimistic representation of the future may be prevented if humanity takes some effective measures beforehand. Firstly, birth control limitations should be implemented in most countries. Apparently, it is not as easy as it seems, for the planet is divided into different countries and societies with their own ideology and regulations. Therefore countries should unite, suspend their disagreement, and develop a unified approach to this question. Another measure might seem quite fantastic, but not impossible. The rapid development of space technologies may result in the migration to other planets, which will be the final step to solve the problem in the distant future. Overall, overpopulation is a global issue that humanity faces nowadays. Only unanimously taken complex measures may decrease the number of people on earth.